10 States Given Waivers from NCLB

Friday, February 10, 2012

President Obama will waive central provisions of the No Child Left Behind federal education law for 10 states that have embraced his educational agenda and promised to raise standards, and improve accountability and teacher effectiveness, the White House announced on Thursday morning.

The 10 states — the first group to receive the waivers — are Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Oklahoma, New Jersey and Tennessee. New Mexico was the only state that applied for and did not receive a waiver, but it is working with administration officials to secure approval, the White House said.

Twenty-eight other states as well as the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico have signaled that they plan to seek waivers, according to the White House.

In a statement, the White House press office said that President Obama believes that No Child Left Behind “is driving the wrong behaviors, from teaching to the test to federally determined, one-size-fits-all interventions” and will call on Congress to join his efforts to fix the law. No Child Left Behind was passed a decade ago with bipartisan support and has been up for renewal since 2007.

Read more