AASA Announces Finalists for 2014 National Superintendent of the Year

Wednesday, January 15, 2014

Co-sponsored by Aramark Education, VALIC and AASA, the 2014 National Superintendent of the Year will be announced during AASA’s National Conference on Education, which is being held on Feb. 13-15, 2014, in Nashville, Tenn.

The four finalists for the 2014 AASA National Superintendent of the Year are:

Alberto Carvalho, Miami-Dade Public Schools, Miami, Fla.

Carvalho became superintendent of the nation’s fourth largest school system in September 2008. A versatile leader, he is the self-appointed principal of two award-winning schools—the Primary Learning Center and the iPrep Academy. He also served as president of the Association of Latino Administrators and Superintendents. Miami-Dade Public Schools was the winner of the 2012 Broad Prize for Urban Education.

Read more