Closed Michigan district's 2,200 students, buildings reassigned

Matthew Zalaznick's picture
Monday, July 29, 2013

In a meeting that saw residents vow to fight for justice and educators fight back tears, the Wayne Regional Educational Service Agency board voted tonight to reassign the 2,200 students who attended the Inkster public schools district to four nearby districts.

The Wayne RESA school board voted to formally dissolve Inkster’s school district and revealed boundaries showing that the former Inkster schools territory will be absorbed by districts in Romulus, Westwood, Wayne-Westland and Taylor.

Three of the former Inkster school buildings — including a newly renovated one — will become part of the Taylor School District. The high school becomes part of the Romulus Community Schools, and the other remaining building is now part of the Wayne-Westland Community Schools.

Read more