Congratulations to the 2012-2013 NSTA New Science Teacher Academy Fellows

Lauren Williams's picture
Thursday, December 20, 2012

NSTA, in collaboration with The Dow Chemical Company; the Amgen Foundation; Astellas Pharma US, Inc.; the American Honda Foundation; the Bayer USA Foundation; and Lockheed Martin, announced the 244 middle and secondary science teachers from across the country who will take part as fellows in the 2012–2013 NSTA New Science Teacher Academy.

For this academic year, The Dow Chemical Company, the primary sponsor of the program, will fund the participation of 195 science teachers as Dow–NSTA Fellows. The American Honda Foundation will support three science teachers as Honda–NSTA Fellows and the Amgen Foundation will support 11 science teachers as Amgen–NSTA Fellows. Astellas Pharma US, Inc. will support 14 science teachers primarily from the Chicago area as Astellas–NSTA Fellows, and the Bayer USA Foundation will sponsor six science teachers as Bayer–NSTA Fellows. The remaining 15 science teachers will be supported by Lockheed Martin and named Lockheed Martin–NSTA Fellows.

Representing 34 states and the District of Columbia, the 2012–2013 fellows were selected on the basis of several criteria, including showing evidence of a solid science background and displaying a strong interest in growing as a professional science educator. Each fellow will receive a comprehensive NSTA membership package, online mentoring with trained mentors who teach in the same discipline, and the opportunity to participate in a variety of web-based professional development activities, including web seminars. In addition, each fellow will receive financial support to attend and participate in NSTA's 2013 National Conference on Science Education in San Antonio.

Click here for a complete list of the 2012–2013 fellows.