Des Moines School District Announces Two New Principals

Courtney Williams's picture
Wednesday, August 8, 2012

The Des Moines public school district announced thta Amy Wiegmann has been named the new principal of Brubaker Elementary School, and Scott Nichols is the new principal of Windsor Elementary School. Wiegmann is currently the school improvement leader at Smouse Opportunity School and Nichols is the dean of students at River Woods Elementary School.

Wiegmann replaces Mike Lord and Nichols replaces Barry Jones, who were both recently appointed to district-wide positions. Lord is the director of elementary student services and Jones is the director of elementary school services.

“Amy and Scott have the experience and commitment to be terrific new educational leaders in our district,” said interim Superintendent Tom Ahart. “I know they are both looking forward to working with the teachers, staff and families in the Brubaker and Windsor communities to support the best interests of our students.”

Brubaker Elementary School is located at 2900 E. 42nd St., and serves nearly 700 students. Windsor Elementary School is home to more than 400 students, and is located at 5912 University Ave.

Read more