Gov's Education Board Picks OK'd by N.C. Lawmakers

Lauren Williams's picture
Thursday, April 4, 2013

The General Assembly has confirmed Gov. Pat McCrory's nominees to the North Carolina State Board of Education.

The House and Senate met in an unusual joint session Wednesday to sign off on McCrory's six appointments to the 13-member board.

The new members are Bill Cobey of Durham, Greg Alcorn of Salisbury, Becky Taylor of Greenville, Buddy Collins of Kernersville, Olivia Oxendine of Robeson County and Marcella Ramirez Savage of Union County.

The confirmation comes after House Republicans rejected one Democrat's amendment that would have removed Collins from the list. Critics have said Collins has opposed anti-bullying efforts while on the Forsyth County school board.

Read more