Large Virginia county to undergo administrative reorganization

Tuesday, May 20, 2014

Fairfax County Public Schools Superintendent Karen Garza announced plans May 16 to reorganize the system’s administrative structure. The new system takes effect July 1.

Instead of eight clusters, the new system would group schools into five administrative regions, with high-achieving schools that serve affluent populations grouped with those with more diverse student bodies and larger proportions of lower-income students. Each region would have a regional assistant superintendent and an “executive principal.”

The Annandale/Mason area would be in Region 2, the smallest geographically but with the most students. It would include Annandale, Stuart, and Falls Church high schools, which are in the Mason District and already connected somewhat via their feeder schools, plus Marshall and McLean high schools which are farther away and Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology, a selective school that serves the whole Northern Virginia region.

Read more