Ohio city board closes 5 schools & accepts principal's resignation

Wednesday, March 5, 2014

Five Columbus schools will close at the end of this school year, after the Board of Education voted unanimously tonight to approve the closures list.

Two other schools that had been on the original list – Independence High School and Siebert Elementary – will remain open.

The schools that will close: Brookhaven High School on the North Side, Monroe Middle School on the Near East Side, Arlington Park Elementary on the North Side and Maybury Elementary on the Far East Side. Fifth Avenue Elementary in Victorian Village will close, but its students will relocate just a few blocks to the east, to the Hubbard Elementary building north of Goodale Park.

Read more