Opportunity Knocks for Dennis-Yarmouth Schools

Lauren Williams's picture
Thursday, December 6, 2012

The Dennis-Yarmouth Regional School Committee, school administrators and selectmen from both towns are talking about how closing Laurence C. MacArthur Elementary School in South Yarmouth can be turned to the district’s advantage.

On Monday night, Superintendent Carol Woodbury asked each principal to present his or her school’s unique features, which include one Innovation School in Yarmouth (M.E. Small) and two in Dennis (Ezra Baker and Nathaniel Wixon); extended days at two Yarmouth Schools (M.E. Small and Mattacheese); extended physical education classes and Spanish classes at Ezra Baker; a sixth- and seventh-grade middle level academy at Wixon; project-based learning in a number of schools; the eighth-grade STEM program at the high school — and much more.

“Together, we can have it all,” Woodbury said, referring to both towns coming together to preserve the regional district and the strong opportunities that redistricting could provide.

Laurence MacArthur School, which serves pre-kindergarten through grade three, is closing in June.

Read more