You are here

Colton-Redlands-Yucaipa ROP: CTE Teacher Induction Program

Colton-Redlands-Yucaipa Regional Occupational Program
Program category: 
Award Cycle: 

Program: CTE Teacher Induction Program (TIP)

Industry professionals are being trained to make the jump to CTE teaching through a special PD initiative at the Colton-Redlands-Yucaipa Regional Occupational Program (CRY-YOP).

The Teacher Induction Program (TIP) launched in 2006 in an effort to positively impact student learning. A dedicated teacher holds regular training sessions with new CTE teachers and provides ongoing support through non-evaluative observations.

The program was so popular, the California Department of Education’s Model Programs and Practices recognized it. And in 2009, CRY-ROP received funding from the Governor’s Career Technical Education Initiative to design a statewide PD program modeled after TIP.

CRY-ROP has also developed CTE Teach, a statewide program designed to support CTE teachers transitioning from industry to teaching. CTE Teach is designed to increase teacher retention and improve instruction through a system of on-going support. Teachers can find curriculums and project ideas on CTE Teach’s website

Through the CTE Teach project, over 200 teacher mentors have been trained to provide support to over 500 new teachers and 700 veteran teachers throughout California. Over 1,500 new CTE teachers have completed the early orientation modules required for state credentialing.

In recognition of the innovation and success of this initiative, Colton-Redlands-Yucaipa has been named a District of Distinction by District Administration. The district was among 49 districts that were honored in the inaugural round of Districts of Distinction, the magazine’s new national recognition program.

“We are pleased to honor Colton-Redlands-Yucaipa as a District of Distinction,” says JD Solomon, editorial director at District Administration magazine. “Like all our honorees, the district serves as a model for school leaders across the country.”

For more information about Districts of Distinction, including how to apply and a list of all current honorees, visit